Enter the Papeete

6/5-7/2017

There are about 5 boats in this corner of the bay.  We are anchored off Club Bali Hai hotel.   We had a sunset dinner at an odd restaurant that seemed to be sponsored by Veuve Clicquot champagne.  Branded stuff everywhere.  Gift shop with more branded stuff.   We had rose.   And they were serving the best beef I’d seen in months!  And the sun went down on a bay with scattered sailboats.  Ok ok… but it’s one of my favorite things!

We found a pizza place another night.  This may sound mundane but where we have been the past month did not have much variety.  Great tuna.  Served with whatever sides they had not run out of between supply boats.  Kinda fun to have choices for a change.

Time to face Papeete.  Bright lights.  Big city.  That’s where galley/outboard fuel is.  That is where you can get stainless steel welded and I have a small job needs doing.  Need to finish govt paperwork too.  So on 6/7 we departed Moorea headed east to Tahiti.

It is a 15 miles trip.  We motored to make water and charge the batteries.  Seas very random and choppy.   And this did not bother Nancy at all.  I am in awe.  We enter the lagoon a few miles south of Papeete.  We can sneak up on it that way.  No available slips so we picked up a mooring ball at Marina Taina.  This place is a spectacle.  There are some of the finest sailboats I have ever seen here.  Well in excess of 100 feet.  Probably a dozen in that category.  And then there is the mooring ball field.  Tough crowd.  Some look like they should not be floating.  Quite a few in fact.  Some have bits missing.  No boom.  No mast.  It’s like a graveyard.  Then scattered about there are a few boats like ours that actually function.  Crazy place.  And not inexpensive.  $80 night for a 40 foot boat.  I go to check in.  They have two rates.  Weekly and monthly.  And I’m just here for a couple days.  So they decide I can stay for free.  Did I mention this was a crazy place

6/8-9/2017

Time to get diesel.   We take on 44 gallons.  Then we motor from the NW  side up to the North and Papeete.  Moorage found in the harbor.

One project is to find a stainless steel welding guy.  One of my bimini tubed is cracked and needs attention.  Papeete is supposed to be good for that.

You can get propane tanks filled here but with butane.  Usually drop it off at Mobile station and pick it up in a couple or three days.  We really dont want to spend that much time in Papeete.  I read that if you take your tanks to the distribution center at the pier you can get them filled same day.  So I do.  Arrive 2pm.  Guy says we close 2pm.  Bring those tanks back tomorrow we open at 6am.  Ok.  I return and a different guy is working.  He says no.  They don’t fill tanks retail anymore.  Never mind what the guy said yesterday.  He’s got a notebook with explanation in English.  And natch ya gotta take it to the Mobile!  It’s Friday and I schlep my tanks on my bicycle to Mobile.  Guy says maybe Monday but probably Tuesday.  Pfft!  Oh well.  Papeete is pretty cool.  We’ll dig it for a few more days.

We head to the post office to get a sim card for Polynesia.   That was pretty easy.  Now I can call locally for a reasonable fee.  Speaking French on the phone… wish me luck!  I call the stainless steel guy and let him know I can be reached now.  He lets me know that he’ll pick up the tubing Sunday and haul it back Monday repaired.  Sounds like it should work…  🙂

2 thoughts on “Enter the Papeete

Leave a Reply

