Bounding Main Indeed

5/31
So, let me just say this: 30 – 35 knot winds, 2 – 3 meter swells, wind forward of the beam, no horizon (dark).

We had been putting up with a great deal of swell in the anchorage in Rangiroa for a few days, and we were both tired of it. We even started to sleep perpendicular in the bed, so the rocking would be head-to-toe instead of side-to-side. Also, we were getting low on LPG, which runs both the dinghy motor and the stove. Chris tried to contact Mr. Christian to see if the weather boded well, but caught the tide and let it roll. If this was a disaster movie, you would think “Don’t do it!” Right?

As the sun went down and the ride got rougher, I didn’t lose faith in either the boat or Chris. It’s just that I was blowing my cookies, and I couldn’t stand watch. Not that just standing watch was what those seas called for. When we finally anchored outside the pass to Tikehau, I was happy we both made it through that. It has taken a couple of days to get my whole body back to “normal.”

Chris was able to make a connection with Jody in his sailboat Strider, and he showed Chris how to use some software he had to predict things like wind, swell, and wave periods BEFORE taking off on a trip. We are doing that now, trying to help me decide if I will sail or fly to Tahiti. Yes, I still may sail.

6/1
Chris is running models of the wind & sea state to determine when we should try again for Tahiti. Lesson learned: don’t sail without hearing from the weather experts.

We really like it here in Tikehau. Population is only about 400. Several pensions (like bed & breakfasts or small all-inclusive places) with diving, two grocery stores. But it’s lovely. We went to a nearby pension for lunch yesterday. There was so much food, and even dessert! Not cheap, but I think we can splurge every now and then. We have some food put away from Rangiroa, so we are good there. Tonight we will put a duck breast on the big green egg. There is a bakery! – fresh baguettes & croissants, and even pizza.

We went by the store this afternoon to replenish our beer supply. I also picked up a lovely cucumber & a bottle of Côte de Provence Rosé. I’m getting more comfortable with my French. On the way back to the dinghy, a Polynesian couple invited us to sit with them, and they played guitar & ukulele for us, to welcome us to the island. Their neighbor lopped off a couple of coconuts for us to take back to the boat. What delightful people. I could come back here.

5 thoughts on “Bounding Main Indeed

  1. Hang in there, Nancy!!!! And hey, since you mentioned it, you should try to pick up a ukulele. I got one and it’s a lot easier than the guitar. Gene and I are playing together and I think it would be great fun to have one with you on your odyssey.

    Like

  2. Wow!!! I know about those storms. And seems ALWAYS AT NIGHT!!! You are my hero. Regardless of the storm. Sounds amazing. Hugs and love to you both

    Like

  3. I am one of the many who are living your adventure vicariously. I brighten every time I a new blog posted. So sorry to hear about the cookie blasting and the storm. What an adventure! Wish I could be there. And look what the storm brought you: Tikehau! Hang in there Nancy. Like you I have complete faith in Chris and in Spill the Wine taking care of you. Lots of Love from the mainland.

    Like

  4. Hey Nancy & Chris! Nancy, so proud of you-quite the accomplishment to have gone through all that and continue to sail. Carry on! Hope you both are enjoying well deserved rest and relaxation before the next adventure. Je te dis merde!

    Like

Leave a Reply

