Painting the Anchor Chain

anchor-first-day-1

Yesterday I painted reference marks on the anchor chain every 25 ft so I would know how much chain I’ve put out.

Things were going so well until one of the ends of the chain slipped off the dock and into the marina. Down to the bottom. All three hundred feet of it. Buried in the mud.

Retrieving it was an… aromatic task.

anchor-set-1

A day later, here’s all 300 ft of chain in a grocery cart (likely over its designed capacity). Then I loaded it into my dingy.

Then I loaded into the anchor locker at the bow of the boat. You can peek in if you like.

anchor-set-2

Then I went swimming. Whew!

 

One thought on “Painting the Anchor Chain

  1. Pingback: Optometric Check Up on a Sailboat | Spill the Wine Around the World

Leave a Reply

