Hanging Out With Holding Tanks

holding-tanks
It’s more fun hanging out with holding tanks than I knew. A bit over the top wearing sunglasses at night. But as friends go they are pretty rude. Maybe not that bad.

This is Head maintenance. After ten years it’s time to replace the hoses. My Spanish word for the day. Mangueras. Means hose. Cab to marine store and get a bunch of mangueras. Gracias!

Replacing the hoses requires removing the holding tanks. Forward tank is 50 liters. So I peel the tank out and inspect. Tank interior has minimal deposits and is virtually odorless. Now I did put a little chlorox in last night. Still odd as the forward head has always had an unfortunate odor. Oh well, onward. Time to cut new hoses.

Everything is going well until. …! The exhaust hose is too short! Who cut that thing! (Me). I should mention, the hose has wire reinforcement. Care is due in cutting and handling so it slices you not. Don’t ask me how I know! So I cut another. Ay yi yi! It is still too short! I actually used stronger language than that. Another cab to the marine store is now on the horizon.

Now done with progress on the forward head being parts down. Let’s tear into the aft. Some odor has developed over the past six months. A few suspect hose connections. Good. All getting replaced. Inspect interior of 85 liter tank. Hmmm. Used to be I could check the content level with a flashlight transilluminating the rotomolded plastic tank. This has not worked so well of late. Monster deposits tell the tale why. But that hosed out pretty clean. Still quite odorless. But still kinda eww. Hey it’s only once every ten years!

Worth pointing out it’s 96 in the boat and 70% humidity. I’m getting really good at sweating. Keep the fluids up!

Another interesting angle. Nuevo Vallarta is a ghost town. A lot of boats laid up for storage. It’s hot and most of these hosers are gone north for summer. I’m dining alone in a beachfront restaurant. As in only customer! Service is good!

So tomorrow I have the supplies to whack out the aft tank etc. No doubt it’ll be 96 again WhooHoo! Back to marine store Monday to get another slightly longer bit of hose and then the forward head will also be in hand. I’m getting down to just a few more maintenance details, then time to bend the sails back on and get ready to hit the sea.

Off to San Jose del Cabo early October is the plan.

Mid September I’m back in Renton for an important Anniversary!

Several showers in order before I head back… and laundry. ..

Leave a Reply

